The Eleanor Venture

The Eleanor Venture Grant honors the Foundation’s founder and longtime president Eleanor Flanders. It provides a teacher with an educational travel experience to either a domestic or international destination. Such an experience is expected to enhance the teacher’s classroom skills, expand curriculum options and ultimately benefit future students directly.

This annual grant provides the perfect tribute to Eleanor Flanders. Beginning in early WWII, Eleanor began putting away a little money here … and a little money there for her investments. She called the fund ‘The Eleanor Venture’. As time passed Eleanor used this money to travel … from the state college in Kansas to places all over the world. With each trip she felt renewed and energized, and her world view expanded. When asked how she might be honored upon her retirement, Eleanor looked back over her years and decided that the directors could best honor her by investing in a teacher – giving that teacher the funds for a significant travel experience.

While such an experience can be given to only a few teachers over time, it is intended to honor all teachers and to tell them how important they are. It is expected that the trip would not only renew, energize and educate the teacher involved but that the teacher’s experience would be brought home to their classroom, fellow teachers and students and provide broad-based benefits for a long time to come.

Interested in the Eleanor Venture?

Click here to apply

TEV Recipients

Each spring the Foundation’s Board of Directors gladly award the Eleanor Venture Travel Grant to one deserving St. Vrain Valley School District teacher to use on domestic or international travel which ultimately enriches the classroom experience.

Beginning in 2004, district teachers have used the travel grants to travel to many exciting destinations.

Award Year Grant Recipient(s) Destination
2018 Colin Rickman Cape Town, South Africa
2017 Janet Benter Rwanda
2016 Kaarina Demers Cuba
2015 Karie Cooper and Hillari Hansen Kitengela, Kenya
2014 David Merrill Japan
2013 Brigitte Toucheque Ecuador
2012 Stephanie Busby France
2011 Scott Brungardt Central America
2010 Kristie Boman Morocco
2009 Jason Gage Australia
2008 Kenneth Benson Northeastern United States
2007 Christina Smedley Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands
2006 Susan Hartman & Jennifer Shopland Peru
2005 Bridget Shaughnessy Mexico
2005 Ruth Schrichte Costa Rica
2004 Wendy Durst Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia