About Tribute to Teachers

This awards program, sponsored by the Education Foundation for the St. Vrain Valley, provides the opportunity for students, parents, volunteers, fellow educators, school staff, community members and business partners to recognize and honor individual teachers at the Pre-K – 12th grade levels in the St. Vrain Valley Schools who exemplify excellence in teaching. By paying tribute to teachers who have an extraordinary impact on the achievements of students, the Education Foundation and the community hope to honor the accomplishments of all teachers.

One teacher from each St. Vrain Valley School will receive the Teacher of the Year (formerly the Encore Award) recognition for their school. Two other teachers from each school will be honored as Teacher of the Year finalists. The Teacher of the Year for each school will receive a $100 gift card for classroom use. The recipients and finalists all receive a certificate of recognition at the Tribute to Teachers event in April 2020. From the school Teacher of the Year recipients, a district wide Teacher of the Year and finalists will be chosen. All St. Vrain Valley Schools are eligible for these awards!

Nomination Criteria

Exemplary St. Vrain Valley Schools Teachers of the Year embody the following 5 characteristics:

  • Innovator – Frequently and appropriately challenges “accepted but outdated” methodologies with new approaches
  • Goal-Setter – Sets and maintains high standards for learning regardless of class/student knowledge
  • Motivator – Demonstrates a real love of teaching in most every lesson
  • Subject Matter Expert – Understands and conveys the material taught
  • Life Connector – Utilizes real-world examples/current topics in the classroom to emphasize the lesson’s importance

Nominations are accepted from students, parents, volunteers, fellow educators, school staff, community members and business partners. In order to qualify as a nominee, the teacher must be a licensed educator in the State of Colorado and employed at a St. Vrain Valley School District campus for the current school year.  If a teacher won the previous year they are not eligible.  All nominations must be received electronically no later than Wednesday, February 5, 2020. Nominations received after this date are not eligible.

Sponsor Tribute to Teachers

The recognition the Education Foundation is able to give to our fantastic teachers is only possible with the financial support and contributions of our business and community partners. Click here for sponsorship information. For sponsorship information, contact Josh Atherton at josh.atherton@efsvv.org or by phone at 720.652.8208.

Teachers and Administrators – Save the Date

The 2020 event has been cancelled. 

Each St. Vrain Valley School will have 3 teachers finalist that will be invited to attend the Tribute to Teachers event with an adult guest.  In addition, one administrator from each school will be able to attend with an adult guest.


Congratulations to our
2020 St. Vrain Valley Schools Teacher of the Year
Janette Rivera Gonzalez, 1st Grade Teacher at Northridge Elementary!